My Experience As A Body Image Ambassador

Hi there! My name is Allie Waller, and I’m currently serving as the Education Committee Head for Operation Beautiful.  One of my favorite responsibilities is keeping up with this blog.  I really hope this becomes an outlet for anyone looking for inspiration, assurance, a day-brightener, or just something to do.  My goal is to make this blog an interactive source of pictures, advice, and stories-with the help from our lovely exec team.  Look below for the “meet our exec” portions, and take a second to read about us.  Each of us has our own stories, experiences, and reasons for being promoters of healthy body image, and we want you to feel free to reach out to us.

I’ll tell you a little about why I’m such a firm believer in healthy body image.  I’m currently serving as a national ambassador for a campaign called “BodyImage3D,” launched by Delta Delta Delta this past October.  You can read more about this campaign in one of our earlier posts!  Below is a photo of me and the other five ambassadors-Lauren, Leah, Anna, and Emily. (I’m the second one from the right!)
Image
Last spring, Tri Delta announced that they were looking for five girls to represent this brand new campaign promoting healthy body image.  They asked Tri Deltas to send in videos explaining what body image meant to them.  At the time, I didn’t know much about body image, but I knew it was something that was extremely important, so I thought I’d give it a shot!
Image^^ That’s nervous me in my audition video!  In it, I talked about body image being such a relatable topic.  Every girl can agree that we’ve all been hurt in some way, we’ve all dealt with certain things, and we’ve all worried about our outside appearance at some point in our lives.  But there will always be efforts that can be made toward bettering body image.  Every person deserves to feel beautiful.  At that point, I decided that I wanted to be an ambassador for that change.
A week later, I got an email informing me that I had been picked to be one of the five ambassadors.  I cried and cried-I was so honored! This past summer, they flew us out to Tri Delta headquarters in Arlington, Texas to get to know each other, to learn more about this campaign, and to take photos and create videos for promotional efforts.  It was truly an amazing experience getting to meet the other ambassadors and the executive team that works so hard to promote healthy body image!  I got to hear the other ambassadors tell their stories and experiences with body image-it was such a life-changing experience.
Image^^ The other ambassadors and I.  I met some truly amazing people!
Right now, I still keep in close contact with the other ambassadors and the executive staff at Delta Delta Delta.  I hope that with my ambassadorship with BodyImage3D, I can reach out to others and encourage them to become promoters of healthy body image as well.  BodyImage3D is an awesome year-long campaign that introduces new themes each month that promote a healthy mind, body, and spirit.  This blog will keep you updated on those themes and present you with monthly challenges and advice!
Well, I hope you learned a little bit more about me through this post! I’m so honored to be a part of such an amazing organization as Operation Beautiful.  I hope you will be too!
-Allie
Image

Leave a Reply

